Stitching Progress – The Frogs Came!

I’ve been making good steady progress with Drawn Thread’s Marriage of the Minds. Here are a couple of snapshot of where it’s at

Dawn Thread - MOTM

Drawn Thread - MOTM 2

Drawn Thread - MOTM 3

All was going well untill the frogs decided to visit – perhaps the water waves I was stitching attracted them 😕  I had to rip out the first lot of waves I stitched after discovering a major mistake that would affect the placement of the other motifs above the waves.  I’m back on track now 🙂 and hope to complete that segment next week.

In other news, I came upon the most exquisite  freebie designed by Sylvia of Nonsolocarta. Sylvia is a talented designer who works wonders with her papercraft and embroidery.  Go visit her blog if you aren’t already acquainted – you’ll find lots to drool over and a whole lot of inspiration. I was so enamoured of the pattern that I whipped it up over the weekend. This is my version of her design:

Nonsolocarta freebie

Nonsolocarta freebie - close up 1

Nonsolocarta freebie - close up 2

My version of this design:
Fabric: 32 count white Belfast linen
Threads: DMC 4045 (foliage and vine) and DMC 3806 (flowers)
small silver heart charm attached to centre of design

Not sure how to finish this, but I thinking of a cushion using a coordinating fabric. I’ll show you what I come up withwhen it’s finished.

Happy Stitching 😉
Pokua

Certified X-stitch addict and lover of tea, fabrics and beads. I work in the vocational education and training sector and in my spare time potter around in the garden growing roses. I'm mum to two adult children of whom I'm very proud.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Cross stitch, Freebies, Samplers
8 comments on “Stitching Progress – The Frogs Came!
  1. Myra says:

    Marriage is coming along quite nicely – those dang frogs jump in when you least expect them. :o) The heart piece is so pretty and delicate.

  2. silvia says:

    Hello, I’m really happy to see that my design is now your embroidery … I would be happy to put pictures of your embroidery on my blog. is this possible?
    I like your embroidery and your blog!I will return…
    Ciao fom Italy
    Silvia

  3. Lynn Bourke says:

    The Drawn Thread design looks fantastic! Frogs can be pesky, especially when you only realise there’s a mistake an hour or so after you made it!

    Love the heart design, too.

  4. Patti says:

    Gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous that’s what Marriage of Minds is. I promise you I didn’t send the frogs to you. But they have, hopefully, left my house now.
    Lots of Love
    Patti xxx

  5. Barbara says:

    Oh how beautiful, Pokua!!

  6. Anne S says:

    Your latest finish is truly gorgeous! What a stunning freebie design 😀 And your MOTM is seriously tempting me to do this one myself – sorry to hear about the froggy visit, though! Look forward to seeing more and more of this one as it progresses 😀

  7. Vinniey says:

    Marriage of Minds is so gorgeous! I always love your stitching. Very neat. 🙂 The freebie design is very beautiful. I love it too.

    {{{Hugs}}}

  8. hello!
    i like very much your version of freebie by nonsolocarta.
    did you used just one green? the leaves seems stitched with 2 differend colours.. they are wonderful!
    hugs
    tiziana

Leave a Reply

About Me

A certified cross stitch addict who is mad about samplers and loves working with hand-dyed fabric, variegated threads and embellishments. Stitching keeps me sane.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers

Follow Me on Pinterest
Archives
2012 Stitching Plans

1. WIPs - finish 4:
- DT Sampler Game Board
- Workbasket's Trellis (done)
- DT Morning Glory
- LK ABC Lessons

2. New Stitching Projects
Plymouth Sampler - TSC (started)
Wonderful Village 1 - MaggiCo (done)
Wonderful Village 2 - MaggiCo (done)
Pear Orchard Farm - CHS (done)
Mermaid's Song - CHS
Dutch Strawberries - TGH
Birds in the Bower - TGH
Persian Proverb - MB
Peaceful Garden - MB
Sampler 1663 - PoC

Finished Fair Squares
2011 Stitching
2010 Stitching
2009 Stitching
Many thanks for visiting. See you again soon!
Visits From Friends
  • 40,150
AURIbuzz

Your window into the world of Aurifil

LRstitched | Lindsey Rhodes

creative inspiration

* Between Crosses with Nina *

my stitching journey

X Stitch Gallery

my stitching journey

Willing Hands

my stitching journey

Victorian Motto Sampler Shoppe

my stitching journey

World of My Dreams

my stitching journey

Un punto e una croce

my stitching journey

Asta Rio Design Fashions

my stitching journey

Tussie Mussie

my stitching journey

my stitching journey

Threadgatherer

my stitching journey

The world according to Ági

my stitching journey

The Stitching Muse

my stitching journey

The Purple Thread

my stitching journey

THE NEEDLE'S PROMISE

my stitching journey

The Crewel Gobelin Chit Chat

my stitching journey

