Framing Experiences

Hi, Friends

In November, I ordered a couple of frames over the internet.  As you know, taking stitched pieces to  a framer’s is an expensive business and I was looking for a cheaper alternative.  So, I found a couple of framers online that are prepared to mitre cut the moulding to customer specifications. No problem, I thought! Except no one told me how difficult it is to select a colour, size and style of moulding that will actually suit the stitched piece when all you’ve got to work with is an online photo of the moulding 😯 I tried and have had some success and some not so good result. Check them out…

Frame No. 1 …

Kindness Samlper Framed

Close up of framing

Rustic look, dark wood with fine black edging. Love the finished effect!

Frame No. 2 …

Willie's Quaker No.7 framed

Close up of frame

Beautiful frame, but  not wide enough me thinks 😕 Or is my perfectionisim showing here?

All in all, I’m rapt that I can buy pre-cut moulding and frame myself. Both frames cost me a total of about $Aust 45.00 including postage, which means more $$ available for stash acquistion 😉 I’ll gettter with practice. My lesson here is not to be afraid to buy a wide frame!

It’s been scorching here in Perth; we’ve had a couple of days over 4o°C and a couple of others over 35 °C over the last week or so. I’m afraid my roses are not too happy with that kind of hot, so they’re not looking so elegant. My pot of pizza thyme, on the other hand, is thriving on the patio

pizza thyme

 

On the stitching front , these are the WIPS I have going at the moment …

  1. Birthday exchange stitching for Patti ( just started)  – Birthday exchange for Gaby left Australia last week 🙂
  2. Primitive Needle’s Earth Sampler
  3. Primitive Needle’s Of Female Arts
  4. Drawn Thread’s Marriage of the Minds – you can follow my progress on the 2010 Weekly SAL

Until next time,

Happy Stitching 😉
Pokua

Certified X-stitch addict and lover of tea, fabrics and beads. I work in the vocational education and training sector and in my spare time potter around in the garden growing roses. I'm mum to two adult children of whom I'm very proud.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Finished pieces
2 comments on “Framing Experiences
  1. Myra says:

    I think both of them look great. Choosing frames and moldings makes me nervous too. :o)

  2. Barbara says:

    I think your framing looks great, but I do love the BOAF one particularly much. I’m very partial to that sort of frame, but have very little luck finding anything like it when I want to get something framed. Great job!

Leave a Reply

About Me

A certified cross stitch addict who is mad about samplers and loves working with hand-dyed fabric, variegated threads and embellishments. Stitching keeps me sane.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Follow Me on Pinterest
Archives
2012 Stitching Plans

1. WIPs - finish 4:
- DT Sampler Game Board
- Workbasket's Trellis (done)
- DT Morning Glory
- LK ABC Lessons

2. New Stitching Projects
Plymouth Sampler - TSC (started)
Wonderful Village 1 - MaggiCo (done)
Wonderful Village 2 - MaggiCo (done)
Pear Orchard Farm - CHS (done)
Mermaid's Song - CHS
Dutch Strawberries - TGH
Birds in the Bower - TGH
Persian Proverb - MB
Peaceful Garden - MB
Sampler 1663 - PoC

Finished Fair Squares
2011 Stitching
2010 Stitching
2009 Stitching
Many thanks for visiting. See you again soon!
Visits From Friends
  • 39,942
AURIbuzz

Your window into the world of Aurifil

LRstitched | Lindsey Rhodes

creative inspiration

* Between Crosses with Nina *

my stitching journey

X Stitch Gallery

my stitching journey

Willing Hands

my stitching journey

Victorian Motto Sampler Shoppe

my stitching journey

World of My Dreams

my stitching journey

Un punto e una croce

my stitching journey

Asta Rio Design Fashions

my stitching journey

Tussie Mussie

my stitching journey

my stitching journey

Threadgatherer

my stitching journey

The world according to Ági

my stitching journey

The Stitching Muse

my stitching journey

The Purple Thread

my stitching journey

THE NEEDLE'S PROMISE

my stitching journey

The Crewel Gobelin Chit Chat

my stitching journey

