Off to a Great Start!

Hello Fellow Stitchers!

Hope you’ve all survived the Christmas festivities and are now firmly planted in the New Decade and the New Year. I had family visiting from overseas over the holidays and  only had the 3 days between Christmas and the New Year off, so couldn’t devote as much time as I would have loved to my stitching. I did have the time, though, to ponder and acknowledge the many aspects of my life for which I’m deeply grateful and to note those areas that I need to pay more attention to. Like my  friend Myra I’m not too good on the stitching goals and resolutions, but I do have a couple of new activities for 2010 that I’d like to share.

Firstly, I joined Gaynor’s  2010 Weekly SAL to keep me on track with my Marriage of the Minds (25th anniverary) project. After a trial on 36 count fabric, I decided to return to the 32 count. My eyesight is not the best – that’s my excuse, anyway 😉 Right  now I’m waiting for my new prescriptions to arrive and I think MOTM is too big a project for me to undertake on 36 count when I’m not used to stitching on the higher count. If you’d like to follow my progress, and that of quite a few other stitchers, do drop by the  blog and visit. This is my progress so far

Week 1: 4-10 January – finished the house and topiary on left hand. Not much, I know but I had a very good reason.

DT Marriage of the Minds - Progress Week 1

The next project is a birthday exchange that I have with Gaby. Her birthday is at the end of January, so I’ve been very  busy stitching and finishing her exchange gifts. Sorry I can’t show you what I’ve  been up to until Gaby receives her parcel, which will start it’s long journey from Australia to Germany  in the next couple of days.

If anyone wants to do an exchange with me (my birthday is in May) just drop me a line.

I also wanted to share with you my Fair & Square Exchange Round 16, the last one in 2009

Received from Mairi G (the crafty camel) in Melbourne. Thank you, Mairi.  Apologies for not posting about this earlier – just love the cute little bluebirds 🙂

F&S from Mairi G

Fair Square from Mairi G

and as Mairi is well known for her love of bright colours, this is what I sent her:

To Mairi G

Fair Square from me to Mairi G

Many of you will recognise the pattern as a freebie from Maryse, stitched in Anchor Variegated 1349.

I have a couple more projects on the go which I’ll show you next post. I’m off to Melbourne on Wednesday for 3 days doing a workshop for auditors. Will catch up with you all when I get back. Until then,

Happy Stitching 😉
Pokua

Certified X-stitch addict and lover of tea, fabrics and beads. I work in the vocational education and training sector and in my spare time potter around in the garden growing roses. I'm mum to two adult children of whom I'm very proud.

Tagged with:
Posted in Cross stitch, WIPs
4 comments on “Off to a Great Start!
  1. Myra says:

    Sounds like you have a plan and like you I prefer a plan to a goal any day. :o) Marriage is looking good and I love the bright squares you did for Maryse. I hope you enjoy your workshop.

  2. Patti says:

    I love what you stitched for Maryse – but not as much as what you stitched for me that’s for sure. I have dropped you an email regarding a birthday exchange.
    Lots of Love
    Patti xxx

  3. The stitching is wonderful Pokua.

  4. Barbara says:

    Happy new year to you and yours, Pokua!! 😀

Leave a Reply

About Me

A certified cross stitch addict who is mad about samplers and loves working with hand-dyed fabric, variegated threads and embellishments. Stitching keeps me sane.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Follow Me on Pinterest
Archives
2012 Stitching Plans

1. WIPs - finish 4:
- DT Sampler Game Board
- Workbasket's Trellis (done)
- DT Morning Glory
- LK ABC Lessons

2. New Stitching Projects
Plymouth Sampler - TSC (started)
Wonderful Village 1 - MaggiCo (done)
Wonderful Village 2 - MaggiCo (done)
Pear Orchard Farm - CHS (done)
Mermaid's Song - CHS
Dutch Strawberries - TGH
Birds in the Bower - TGH
Persian Proverb - MB
Peaceful Garden - MB
Sampler 1663 - PoC

Finished Fair Squares
2011 Stitching
2010 Stitching
2009 Stitching
Many thanks for visiting. See you again soon!
Visits From Friends
  • 39,933
AURIbuzz

Your window into the world of Aurifil

LRstitched | Lindsey Rhodes

creative inspiration

* Between Crosses with Nina *

my stitching journey

X Stitch Gallery

my stitching journey

Willing Hands

my stitching journey

Victorian Motto Sampler Shoppe

my stitching journey

World of My Dreams

my stitching journey

Un punto e una croce

my stitching journey

Asta Rio Design Fashions

my stitching journey

Tussie Mussie

my stitching journey

my stitching journey

Threadgatherer

my stitching journey

The world according to Ági

my stitching journey

The Stitching Muse

my stitching journey

The Purple Thread

my stitching journey

THE NEEDLE'S PROMISE

my stitching journey

The Crewel Gobelin Chit Chat

my stitching journey

