Stitching and Finishing

I want to start this post with a very big Thank You to you my stitching friends for your kind compliments and congratulations for  DD’s graduation. As the saying goes, it takes a village to raise a child and certainly it takes a very warm-hearted stitching community to share the joys that go with it. Life is so short, and I’ve promised myself that I will celebrate it in all ways I’m capable of. I truly appreciate having people with whom to share life’s joys 🙂 

Now for an update on stitching and finishing. The first is a small birthday gift for sister stitcher CindyF – a floss tag I made with using the design from Carriage House Sampling’s Alphabet Series:

CHS Alphabet Series T-Threads

Floss tag front - CHS Alphabet Series T-Threads

Back of Floss tag

Back of Floss tag

Floss tag with matching pincushion

Floss tag with matching pincushion

 

I finally finished my first heart-shaped ornament. Would you believe that I stitched this desig in 2006? It was a little tricky to get the shape right with the foam core board, but it turned out all right once the fabric and ribbon trim went on. It’s a well known design from the December 2005 edition of the Australian Better Homes & Garden magazine. Rather large for a a pinkeep, but beautiful nonetheless.

Pinkeep - Australian BHG Pattern Dec '05

Pinkeep - Australian BHG Pattern Dec '05

Detail of trim/pins/beads

Detail of trim/pins/beads

Close up - stitched with DMC variations 4020
Close up – stitched with DMC variations 4020

And in the works is  a needlebook (my first) for Tiny Treasures Exchange Too. Nita has kindly taken on the role of coordinating the group (thanks, Nita 🙂 ) but it appears no-one has heard anything from Sharon for a very long time, which is a source of concern. If anyone has news – no need for details – just to let us know that she’s OK – it would be reassuring.

Wish you all many Happy Stitches as we hurtle towards Christmas 😉
Pokua

Certified X-stitch addict and lover of tea, fabrics and beads. I work in the vocational education and training sector and in my spare time potter around in the garden growing roses. I'm mum to two adult children of whom I'm very proud.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Cross stitch, Finished pieces
8 comments on “Stitching and Finishing
  1. Gaynor says:

    Beautiful!! Love the colours ion the heart!

  2. Vinniey says:

    I’m really happy for you Pokua. Thanks for sharing your happy moment on your daughter’s graduation. The heart shaped ornament is so beautiful and unique. Happy stitching to you too. :>

  3. Lisa V says:

    Beautiful finish, I love the heart!

  4. Barbara says:

    GORGEOUS finishes!!

  5. Dani says:

    Your finishing is just superb!

  6. Myra says:

    Gorgeous finishes! I love that heart, the colors are beautiful. Congratulations to your daughter too.

  7. argone says:

    I like your tag ! great finishing …

  8. CarolR says:

    Beautiful heart – gorgeous colour and a great finish!

Leave a Reply

About Me

A certified cross stitch addict who is mad about samplers and loves working with hand-dyed fabric, variegated threads and embellishments. Stitching keeps me sane.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Follow Me on Pinterest
Archives
2012 Stitching Plans

1. WIPs - finish 4:
- DT Sampler Game Board
- Workbasket's Trellis (done)
- DT Morning Glory
- LK ABC Lessons

2. New Stitching Projects
Plymouth Sampler - TSC (started)
Wonderful Village 1 - MaggiCo (done)
Wonderful Village 2 - MaggiCo (done)
Pear Orchard Farm - CHS (done)
Mermaid's Song - CHS
Dutch Strawberries - TGH
Birds in the Bower - TGH
Persian Proverb - MB
Peaceful Garden - MB
Sampler 1663 - PoC

Finished Fair Squares
2011 Stitching
2010 Stitching
2009 Stitching
Many thanks for visiting. See you again soon!
Visits From Friends
  • 39,789
AURIbuzz

Your window into the world of Aurifil

LRstitched | Lindsey Rhodes

creative inspiration

* Between Crosses with Nina *

my stitching journey

X Stitch Gallery

my stitching journey

Willing Hands

my stitching journey

Victorian Motto Sampler Shoppe

my stitching journey

World of My Dreams

my stitching journey

Un punto e una croce

my stitching journey

my stitching journey

Tussie Mussie

my stitching journey

Asta Rio Design Fashions

my stitching journey

The world according to Ági

my stitching journey

Threadgatherer

my stitching journey

The Stitching Muse

my stitching journey

The Purple Thread

my stitching journey

THE NEEDLE'S PROMISE

my stitching journey

The Crewel Gobelin Chit Chat

my stitching journey

