A Tribute

Today 18th August marks the 5th anniversary of my Dad’s passing. He was  79 and became progressively ill due to complications with Parkinson’s Disease. I started stitching Twisted Thread’s Irish Blessing 2yrs or so after he died and all but finished it, but couldn’t bring myself to stitch his name in – the emotions were still too raw. Time heals, they say and today I present my tribute to him.

Irish Blessing framed

Irish Blessing framed

Irish Blessing closeup

Irish Blessing closeup

Irish Blessing frame detail

Irish Blessing frame detail

Dad may be gone, but he’s still very present in my life and  I was very close to him. I’ll tell you a short story to show you how near he still is to me…Earlier this year I bought a new car,  a Holden (Opel) Astra hatchback. I had to get it registered so I could drive it out of the sales yard. A few days later, I went to pick it up. It was Friday 30 January, my Dad’s birthday. I waited for the number plates to be fitted on the car and what a surprise  had when I saw them…

Close up of number plate

Close up of number plate

 Dad, you may be gone but you’re definitely not forgotten 😉 Needless to say, I love that car!

Happy Stitching
Pokua

Certified X-stitch addict and lover of tea, fabrics and beads. I work in the vocational education and training sector and in my spare time potter around in the garden growing roses. I'm mum to two adult children of whom I'm very proud.

Tagged with:
Posted in Cross stitch, Family, Samplers
9 comments on “A Tribute
  1. Lisa says:

    What a lovely sentiment for your Dad, its one of my favourite verses.
    Oh and I love the number plate!!

  2. Gaynor says:

    A beautiful peice of work…a real tribute which I am sure he would have loved. Fantastic number plates 😉

  3. Valerie says:

    What a beautiful and touching tribute to your dad. The stitching is great!I love the license plate…what a great coincidence!

  4. What a wonderful tribute to your Dad, Pokua! I’ve wanted to stitch that piece in memory of my Irish Gran who passed away nearly 6 years ago, but haven’t been able to do it yet. I did get a tribute tattoo of a hummingbird & iris flower in her memory earlier this year. They were both her favorites. 🙂

  5. Joanne says:

    That is a wonderful tribute to your Dad.
    I love your basket of smalls.

  6. Barbara says:

    Large, warm hugs to you, Pokua. Our Daddies are always nearby, I’m certain of it.

  7. Myra says:

    What a beautiful tribute. I love the Irish Blessing and the way you made it into a tribute is just wonderful.

  8. MarieP says:

    What a beautiful tribute to your Dad AND the license plate story is amazing! 🙂

  9. Cindy F. says:

    I know you were (are) as special to your dad as he was (is) to you! Pokua, your finish is absolutely gorgeous! How very special and I’m so proud of you for finishing it! BIG (((HUGS)))!!!
    and the story about your car! Wow! Your dad likes the car too! It was truly meant to be yours!

Leave a Reply

About Me

A certified cross stitch addict who is mad about samplers and loves working with hand-dyed fabric, variegated threads and embellishments. Stitching keeps me sane.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers

Follow Me on Pinterest
Archives
2012 Stitching Plans

1. WIPs - finish 4:
- DT Sampler Game Board
- Workbasket's Trellis (done)
- DT Morning Glory
- LK ABC Lessons

2. New Stitching Projects
Plymouth Sampler - TSC (started)
Wonderful Village 1 - MaggiCo (done)
Wonderful Village 2 - MaggiCo (done)
Pear Orchard Farm - CHS (done)
Mermaid's Song - CHS
Dutch Strawberries - TGH
Birds in the Bower - TGH
Persian Proverb - MB
Peaceful Garden - MB
Sampler 1663 - PoC

Finished Fair Squares
2011 Stitching
2010 Stitching
2009 Stitching
Many thanks for visiting. See you again soon!
Visits From Friends
  • 40,114
AURIbuzz

Your window into the world of Aurifil

LRstitched | Lindsey Rhodes

creative inspiration

* Between Crosses with Nina *

my stitching journey

X Stitch Gallery

my stitching journey

Willing Hands

my stitching journey

Victorian Motto Sampler Shoppe

my stitching journey

World of My Dreams

my stitching journey

Un punto e una croce

my stitching journey

Asta Rio Design Fashions

my stitching journey

Tussie Mussie

my stitching journey

my stitching journey

Threadgatherer

my stitching journey

The world according to Ági

my stitching journey

The Stitching Muse

my stitching journey

The Purple Thread

my stitching journey

THE NEEDLE'S PROMISE

my stitching journey

The Crewel Gobelin Chit Chat

my stitching journey

