Help Please! – DT Marriage of the Minds

If anyone is stitching or has completed  Marriage of the Minds, I’d really appreciate some help. I’ve just started stitching it with the presecribed NPI silks. The design says to use 1 silk thread over 2 fabric threads. I tried that, but wasn’t happy with the coverage on the fabric, so stitched a little of the pattern with 2/2. The fabric is Zweigart 32 count Clay.Here’s what it looks like:

IMGP3790

I’m a beginner with silk threads and they handle very differently to cotton. I’ve noticed that using 2/2 the threads tend to twist more.
Question: Should I follow the original instructions and stitch 1/2? I’m worried about not getting the result I want 😦 I’ve invested $$ in the silks, so want it to finish well and it’s my 25th wedding anniversary sampler. My feeling is to continue with the 2/2

I really need your advice, please!

Pokua

Certified X-stitch addict and lover of tea, fabrics and beads. I work in the vocational education and training sector and in my spare time potter around in the garden growing roses. I'm mum to two adult children of whom I'm very proud.

Tagged with:
Posted in Cross stitch, Samplers
7 comments on “Help Please! – DT Marriage of the Minds
  1. KarenV says:

    Silks are slightly thicker than cotton threads, so 1 x 2 is fine on 32ct. I haven’t stitched this particular DT design, but I have stitched others by this designer and others, in silk, 1 x 2 on 32ct and they look good. The coverage, as you’ve found, is more delicate and lacy, which some people don’t like and which does take a little getting used to. However, it does look good when finished. If you want, check out some of my DT finishes here: http://picasaweb.google.com/Kazzav/DrawnThreadDesigns# – these are all stitched 1 x 2 in silk on 32ct linen.

    My thoughts are these: I personally would use 1 x 2, because I know it will give a nice, delicate finish. Also, this design is quite densely stitched at the bottom, and *may* just look a bit too bulky in the 2 strands with all the little details. However, it’s *your* sampler and if you prefer 2 x 2 and are happier with the result, then that’s OK. I have used 2 x 2 with silk on 32ct and was perfectly happy with the effect, although it was a much smaller piece. Other thoughts are possibly to switch up to 36ct fabric, where the coverage will be a little better with one strand, although I doubt that you will be able to get hold of Clay in that count.

    Good luck – it’s a beautiful sampler and I’m sure you’ll enjoy stitching it.

  2. Patti says:

    Hi Pokua, I personally prefer 1 over 2 on 32count. It gives a very delicate look to any piece. I think you will like it once you get used to it. I practically only ever stitch with one strand. I only use two if I am stitching on 30count or less over 2. I haven’t forgotten your birthday, you will get a gift I’ve just had so much to do. Lots of love Patti xxx

  3. Barbara says:

    I see some votes for one-over-two. I’d try that, and see if you like the effect.If you really want to stick with 2-over-2, try using Thread Heaven to keep your silks from twisting – it really does make a big difference for some ‘problem’ floss. I’ve used it with silk and it looks fine (it doesn’t ruin the silk sheen). Good luck!!

  4. Cindy F. says:

    The first time I tried 1 over 2 on 32ct….it bugged me too! BUT,,,now I only stitch 1 over 2 and love it!

  5. Anne S says:

    Have to admit with the DT designs, I try to stick with the recommended 1 over 2, but it depends on the silk thread itself … I find the NPI silks give sufficient coverage when stitched 1 over 2 for the overall finished piece (but it does look like less coverage than DMC 2 over 2, and you do have to get used to it for the first time!) … but occasionally I’ve used a really thin silk that needed 2 strands just to look similar to the others (I had an issue with a Gloriana silk in DT’s Autumn Arbor, the Gloriana silk was dreadful!). All-in-all, though, it’s your sampler and should meet your preferences. Personally with my first DT I was really disappointed in the end result ‘cos it was “different” to what I was used to, but now I appreciate the DT designs for that same reason 🙂 I agree with KV that 36ct will give you better coverage, though 🙂

  6. stephanie w says:

    It’s been some time since your post – did you complete? I’m just embarking on the MOTM journey. Would love to see a photo of your finished project.

  7. xangles says:

    Hi, Stephanie, MOTM is finished YaY! The framed piece is shown in my blog post of 28 August 2010, but I have shown progress in other posts before that. In the navigation area on the right hand side of the blog, scroll down to the tag shortcuts section which I have called Easy Find and click on Drawn Thread. It will show you all posts that I have tagged with that label. You’ll see all my progress shots for MOTM and the framed piece.

Leave a Reply

About Me

A certified cross stitch addict who is mad about samplers and loves working with hand-dyed fabric, variegated threads and embellishments. Stitching keeps me sane.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers

Follow Me on Pinterest
Archives
2012 Stitching Plans

1. WIPs - finish 4:
- DT Sampler Game Board
- Workbasket's Trellis (done)
- DT Morning Glory
- LK ABC Lessons

2. New Stitching Projects
Plymouth Sampler - TSC (started)
Wonderful Village 1 - MaggiCo (done)
Wonderful Village 2 - MaggiCo (done)
Pear Orchard Farm - CHS (done)
Mermaid's Song - CHS
Dutch Strawberries - TGH
Birds in the Bower - TGH
Persian Proverb - MB
Peaceful Garden - MB
Sampler 1663 - PoC

Finished Fair Squares
2011 Stitching
2010 Stitching
2009 Stitching
Many thanks for visiting. See you again soon!
Visits From Friends
  • 40,070
AURIbuzz

Your window into the world of Aurifil

LRstitched | Lindsey Rhodes

creative inspiration

* Between Crosses with Nina *

my stitching journey

X Stitch Gallery

my stitching journey

Willing Hands

my stitching journey

Victorian Motto Sampler Shoppe

my stitching journey

World of My Dreams

my stitching journey

Un punto e una croce

my stitching journey

Asta Rio Design Fashions

my stitching journey

Tussie Mussie

my stitching journey

my stitching journey

Threadgatherer

my stitching journey

The world according to Ági

my stitching journey

The Stitching Muse

my stitching journey

The Purple Thread

my stitching journey

THE NEEDLE'S PROMISE

my stitching journey

The Crewel Gobelin Chit Chat

my stitching journey

