I’m Stitching!

Hola! Stitching Friends

Happy to report that I’ve been catching up on my stitching over the last few weeks:

Birthday Pressie for Gaynor
Gaynor  shares a birthday with me – 26th May – so I made a little something to mark the occassion. I was so relieved to hear she’s received it. I was worried that because I’d included a pair of scissors, the parcel might be seized at customs. Anyway, it got there intact with scissors and all  🙂

Scissor Fob for Gaynor. Motif from Trellis, The Workbasket on 28 count tan linene

Scissor Fob for Gaynor - motif from Trellis, The Workbasket; stitched on 28 count tan linen

Fair & Square Round 13
I stitched and mailed my Friendship Squares for Round 13 and signed up for Roiund 14. Sorry, folks you’ll have to wait until the recipient announces its arrival.

Tiny Treasures Exchange – Floss Tags
Also stitched, finished and mailed out. This was my first attempt at a floss tag, and it took a little work to get the eyelet right. I’ll show you as soon as my mystery recipient gets it.

Startitis
I got a dose of startitis and kitted up BOAF’s Kindness Sampler. I’ve had the pattern a while now, and have been imagining it finished and framed on my ‘one day soon’ sampler wall. So I thought to myself; Life’s Short! and that’s how I got started. The colours are gorgeous, it’s easy stitching and here’s a couple of weekends work…

BOAF Kindness Sampler; stitched on 32 count Vintage Country Mocha using DMC threads

BOAF Kindness Sampler; stitched on 32 count Vintage Country Mocha using DMC threads

Sorry about the crumpled fabric.  It’s officially winter here (though very mild) and by the time I get home from work it’s too dark to take any quality photos. So I can only do my photos on the weekend and I work with what I’ve got.

25th Wedding Anniversary
Remember how I chose Drawn Thread’s The Marriage of the Minds (TMOTM) pattern to stitch this year for our 25th wedding anniversary? Well I’ve finally managed to gather together all the requisite supplies and I’m ready to start 🙂

Marriage of the Minds - for 25th Wedding Anniversary

I chose 32 count Taupe linen and because it’s a special sampler, I did not stint. Bought the prescribed NPI and Gloriana silk, and haven’t regretted it. Can’t wait to get a start on it. Think I’ll need to put this one on my stitching frame – it’s a loong design, and I stitch faster if I have a frame.

Anyway, gotta love you and leave you all now. I have the itch to stitch!

Happy stitching to you all 🙂

Pokua

Certified X-stitch addict and lover of tea, fabrics and beads. I work in the vocational education and training sector and in my spare time potter around in the garden growing roses. I'm mum to two adult children of whom I'm very proud.

Tagged with:
Posted in Cross stitch, Samplers, wedding
7 comments on “I’m Stitching!
  1. Gaynor says:

    I absolutely love it Pokua…and I do have a gift started to return to you…but omgoodness…I have a high standard to match! Thak you for giving the material you used, it really is lovely and soft and is on my ‘to buy’ list 😉
    Congratulations on reachng 25 years of marriage. A rare thing in this day and age, and the kindness sampler is really pretty. I wish more people lived by that!
    Again, thank you..oh yes, and in my experience, customs are more like to stop and open my favourite coffee sent from the Uk rather than anything like scissors hehe!

  2. KarenV says:

    The fob you made is very pretty, especially with the beaded edge 🙂

    Love your BOAF start and you’ve chosen a lovely design for your anniversary sampler. Congratulations on reaching 25 years!

  3. Barbara says:

    Love your progress on the BOAF project! And the DT will be wonderful. Great scissor fob and scissors, too – a lovely gift. 😀

  4. Cindy F. says:

    I had seen your beautiful fob on Gaynor’s blog! I love it!! Stitching and finishing are gorgeous…and how nice you included pretty scissors:)

    What a pretty new start AND a 25th anniversary design choice!

  5. argone says:

    I love the fob and this “kindness” stitching by BOAF.

    you have a great project almost ready, as I can see ! good luck for this …
    hugs

  6. CarolR says:

    Pretty fob you stitched for Gaynor.

    And those NPI silks look really scrummy! Happy Anniversary

  7. Anne S says:

    That’s one stunning scissor fob! 😀

Leave a Reply

About Me

A certified cross stitch addict who is mad about samplers and loves working with hand-dyed fabric, variegated threads and embellishments. Stitching keeps me sane.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers

Follow Me on Pinterest
Archives
2012 Stitching Plans

1. WIPs - finish 4:
- DT Sampler Game Board
- Workbasket's Trellis (done)
- DT Morning Glory
- LK ABC Lessons

2. New Stitching Projects
Plymouth Sampler - TSC (started)
Wonderful Village 1 - MaggiCo (done)
Wonderful Village 2 - MaggiCo (done)
Pear Orchard Farm - CHS (done)
Mermaid's Song - CHS
Dutch Strawberries - TGH
Birds in the Bower - TGH
Persian Proverb - MB
Peaceful Garden - MB
Sampler 1663 - PoC

Finished Fair Squares
2011 Stitching
2010 Stitching
2009 Stitching
Many thanks for visiting. See you again soon!
Visits From Friends
  • 40,031
AURIbuzz

Your window into the world of Aurifil

LRstitched | Lindsey Rhodes

creative inspiration

* Between Crosses with Nina *

my stitching journey

X Stitch Gallery

my stitching journey

Willing Hands

my stitching journey

Victorian Motto Sampler Shoppe

my stitching journey

World of My Dreams

my stitching journey

Un punto e una croce

my stitching journey

Asta Rio Design Fashions

my stitching journey

Tussie Mussie

my stitching journey

my stitching journey

Threadgatherer

my stitching journey

The world according to Ági

my stitching journey

The Stitching Muse

my stitching journey

The Purple Thread

my stitching journey

THE NEEDLE'S PROMISE

my stitching journey

The Crewel Gobelin Chit Chat

my stitching journey

