April Fool’s Day – A 25th Anniversary!

australian-flagApril Fool’s Day! That’s the day I arrived in Australia, at precisely 7:30am on Qantas Flight QF002 from Rome, with a stop-over in Singapore.  I can still recall walking through the  exit doors at Melbourne’s Tullamarine Airport after clearing immigration and customs, to see the happy faces of my family, which had gathered to welcome me to our new home;  Dad, who sadly is no longer with us, Mum and my brothers. They had arrived 2 years earlier and I was studying in Barcelona and Madrid, Spain at the time. Such a happy time!

25 years have sped past, and I have much to be thankful and grateful for. The family has grown and prospered in Australia. I have been blessed with 2 wonderful children, 3 nephews and 6 neices and a number of truly devoted friends. Life is good. Thank You Australia!

This year is a landmark year in my life in other ways as well. In February, my DD Abby completed a double degree in Arts/Economics at the University of  Western Australia. I’m really proud of her. The graduation ceremony will be in August. It’s  also my 25th Wedding Anniversary in October. Wow, how time flies when you’re having a good time!

I have been thinking how to celebrate and commemorate this landmark year through my stitching:

For our wedding anniversary, I’m going to stitch Drawn Thread’s Marriage of  Minds

For my daughter’s graduation – haven’t found a design yet. Mmmm…

For my Aussie commemoration, I have a few ideas:

  1.  Drawn Thread’s  Souvenir Sampler
  2. Brenda Key’s Plymouth Sampler  
  3. An appropriate quaker sampler ?
  4. Something else?

Can’t make up my mind. So come on girls, if you have any ideas, please don’t keep them to yourself.

Got to go now. Happy stitching!

Pokua

Certified X-stitch addict and lover of tea, fabrics and beads. I work in the vocational education and training sector and in my spare time potter around in the garden growing roses. I'm mum to two adult children of whom I'm very proud.

Posted in Cross stitch
7 comments on “April Fool’s Day – A 25th Anniversary!
  1. Natalija says:

    Hi Pokua,

    Wow, 25 years… It’s a lot. I’m in Italy for 2 years only.
    I was thinking what could you stitch for your daughter’s graduation… How about “Graduation Day” by Praiseworthy Stitches?
    And I like very much “Brenda Key’s” by Plymouth Sampler, because it has more bright colors. Have a great week 🙂

  2. Julie says:

    Congratulations on your anniversaries. We are having our 25th wedding anniversary in May and I have just finished and taken to the framer’s, Long Dog Sampler “The Token”.

  3. Patti says:

    Congratulations on your anniversaries and Marriage of the Minds is a great thing to stitch. I agree with Natalija about what you should stitch for your daughters graduation I think it would be perfect. Have a great week Patti xxx

  4. Barbara says:

    Pokua, congratulations on all these HUGE milestones! I’m so happy to hear all the good news. Wishing you decades more of happiness with EVERYTHING! 😀

  5. Joanne says:

    Congratulations to you and your family.

  6. Cindy F. says:

    Pokua, you are truly blessed! Congrats on so many wonderful anniversaries and to your dd’s upcoming graduation:)

  7. Pokua,
    Congrats on your anniversaries!
    Thank you for visiting my blog and commenting on my work. You were interested in making a Tulip biscornu – All my designs have instructions on assembling the smalls.
    Happy stitching,
    Olga

Leave a Reply

About Me

A certified cross stitch addict who is mad about samplers and loves working with hand-dyed fabric, variegated threads and embellishments. Stitching keeps me sane.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers

Follow Me on Pinterest
Archives
2012 Stitching Plans

1. WIPs - finish 4:
- DT Sampler Game Board
- Workbasket's Trellis (done)
- DT Morning Glory
- LK ABC Lessons

2. New Stitching Projects
Plymouth Sampler - TSC (started)
Wonderful Village 1 - MaggiCo (done)
Wonderful Village 2 - MaggiCo (done)
Pear Orchard Farm - CHS (done)
Mermaid's Song - CHS
Dutch Strawberries - TGH
Birds in the Bower - TGH
Persian Proverb - MB
Peaceful Garden - MB
Sampler 1663 - PoC

Finished Fair Squares
2011 Stitching
2010 Stitching
2009 Stitching
Many thanks for visiting. See you again soon!
Visits From Friends
  • 40,165
AURIbuzz

Your window into the world of Aurifil

LRstitched | Lindsey Rhodes

creative inspiration

* Between Crosses with Nina *

my stitching journey

X Stitch Gallery

my stitching journey

Willing Hands

my stitching journey

Victorian Motto Sampler Shoppe

my stitching journey

World of My Dreams

my stitching journey

Un punto e una croce

my stitching journey

Asta Rio Design Fashions

my stitching journey

Tussie Mussie

my stitching journey

my stitching journey

Threadgatherer

my stitching journey

The world according to Ági

my stitching journey

The Stitching Muse

my stitching journey

The Purple Thread

my stitching journey

THE NEEDLE'S PROMISE

my stitching journey

The Crewel Gobelin Chit Chat

my stitching journey

