Confessions of a Stitcher

March is almost over, and I haven’t been able to record progress against my stitching goals for February.  I have to confess, it’s not working for me 😦 It’s not that I’m not stitching or anything, but I find my creativity and sense of play are seriously hampered by setting myself must do’s about which projects I stitch and when.  You were right, Gaynor  😉 So, without much ado, I’m ditching the whole idea (heaving a sigh of relief!) and reverting to my natural self – stitch what I feel like when I feel like. 😎

Now that I’m fully ‘fessed up, on to the happy things.  Since completing my giveaways (and BTW, all gifts have arrived  safely in their new homes) this is what I’ve been up to:

Here’s the Scissor Fob I made for my Tiny Treasures Partner Gillie. The design is a motif from Trellis, by The Workbasket

imgp3310

Scissor Fob front

Scissor Fob back

Scissor Fob back

 And this it the biscornu I received from Jean, The Slow Stitcher, in the Tiny Treasures Exchange. Jean included some lovely Carrie’s Threads (Concord). Thank you very much, Jean.

Biscornu top

Biscornu top

biscornu bottom

biscornu bottom

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve sent off my Tiny Treasures biscornu to my secret partner – sorry, can’t show you anything until it gets to its destination!

 Apart from exchange stitching, I’ve been advancing on  a couple of WIPs. I’m up to K with my Prairie Schooler Farmer’s Alphabet and enjoying it immensely. It’s easy stitching that I can handle at night when I’m stitch before bedtime.

Farmer's Market, Prairie Schooler

Farmer's Market, Prairie Schooler

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And I’ve finally made a start on Trellis by the Workbasket. It’s a pattern I’ve wanted to stitch for a while now, and happy to report htat I’m off to a good start. I’m stitching with the prescribed Gentle Arts and Weeks Dye Works threads on 32 count off-white 32 linen.

Trellis, The Workbasket

Trellis, The Workbasket

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m off to stitch now 🙂 Wishing you all a happy and productive stitching week!
Pokua

Certified X-stitch addict and lover of tea, fabrics and beads. I work in the vocational education and training sector and in my spare time potter around in the garden growing roses. I'm mum to two adult children of whom I'm very proud.

Tagged with:
Posted in Biscornu, Cross stitch, Scissors fobs, WIPs
10 comments on “Confessions of a Stitcher
  1. bronny says:

    The fob is very sweet – and congratulations on deciding to stitch for yourself – It lightens the burden and makes stitching so much more fun again!

  2. Patti says:

    Pokua I love the fob you stitched for Gillie. In fact I love everything you do – you are just so talented. And when I read your blog about goal setting etc. Doesn’t work for me either. I must be free to stitch what I want to. When I saw that your biscornu has not been received yet I can still hope that you have stitched it for me. Lots of Love Patti xxx

  3. Theresa says:

    The fob is fabulous!!!!!
    Your WIPs are so pretty!!!! Love the alphabets~

  4. Barbara says:

    I’m another one who can’t enjoy stitching as much if I feel I ‘have’ to follow a to-do list. LOL. If I can just stitch whatever appeals to me, it’s so much more fun.

    LOVE your projects!! 😀

  5. argone says:

    oh I love this fob …. and the other stitchings, too … may I ask where you purchase this metal piece for the tassel ?
    thanks a lot
    argone
    e-mail : leblogdargone at yahoo dot fr

  6. Helen says:

    Beautiful finish on your fob 🙂
    Take care

  7. Gaynor says:

    Hi Pokua hope you are well.
    I have a strange request…when you had your giveaways I left my e-mail addy on your sight. I have been getting abusive e-amils which I dont think come from the info on your site..but I am trying to tack down anything that might have my address on..
    Could you please remove my comment with my e-mail on ..
    sorry to be a pain.
    Many hugs in appreciation

    gaynor

  8. Anne S says:

    Just wanted to drop by and say what beautiful stitching you do 🙂 Beautiful wedding photos too! 🙂

  9. xangles says:

    Hi, Anne. Thanks for popping in and for the compliments. The wedding was absolutely fantastic and we had fun!
    Cheers,
    Pokua

  10. CarolR says:

    Fabulous fob Pokua. Where do you get those lovely metal tassel tops from?

Leave a Reply

About Me

A certified cross stitch addict who is mad about samplers and loves working with hand-dyed fabric, variegated threads and embellishments. Stitching keeps me sane.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Follow Me on Pinterest
Archives
2012 Stitching Plans

1. WIPs - finish 4:
- DT Sampler Game Board
- Workbasket's Trellis (done)
- DT Morning Glory
- LK ABC Lessons

2. New Stitching Projects
Plymouth Sampler - TSC (started)
Wonderful Village 1 - MaggiCo (done)
Wonderful Village 2 - MaggiCo (done)
Pear Orchard Farm - CHS (done)
Mermaid's Song - CHS
Dutch Strawberries - TGH
Birds in the Bower - TGH
Persian Proverb - MB
Peaceful Garden - MB
Sampler 1663 - PoC

Finished Fair Squares
2011 Stitching
2010 Stitching
2009 Stitching
Many thanks for visiting. See you again soon!
Visits From Friends
  • 39,798
AURIbuzz

Your window into the world of Aurifil

LRstitched | Lindsey Rhodes

creative inspiration

* Between Crosses with Nina *

my stitching journey

X Stitch Gallery

my stitching journey

Willing Hands

my stitching journey

Victorian Motto Sampler Shoppe

my stitching journey

World of My Dreams

my stitching journey

Un punto e una croce

my stitching journey

my stitching journey

Tussie Mussie

my stitching journey

Asta Rio Design Fashions

my stitching journey

The world according to Ági

my stitching journey

Threadgatherer

my stitching journey

The Stitching Muse

my stitching journey

The Purple Thread

my stitching journey

THE NEEDLE'S PROMISE

my stitching journey

The Crewel Gobelin Chit Chat

my stitching journey

