Cyber Time Warp and Gifts From Afar!

Something really weird happened with my last giveaway. Days after I’d posted the results of the draw (which CarolR won) I continued to receive comments from people wanting to be in the draw 😕   Even allowing  for differences in time zone (I’m in Australian Western Standard Time) Can’t fathom what was going on there. What’s more, I wasn’t able to click on the names and link to their blogs as I usually do to tell them what had happened.  My sincere apologies for any confusion this has caused.

In spite of the time warp in cyberspace, I did manage to receive 2 wonderful gifts from faraway places by snail mail 🙂

Fair & Square Friendship Exchange
I received the most gorgeous quaker square from my Exchange partner Linda B from PA, USA. She tucked into my parcel the cutest little teapot frame. 

Quaker square from Linda B

Quaker square from Linda B

imgp3532

Signature Square

 

 

 

 

Weeny Teapot Frame from Linda B

Weeny Teapot Frame from Linda B

Thanks so  very muc to Linda – she doesn’t have a blog.Her Square is going to be a part of a quaker collection that I’ve been wanting to start up for a while now.

Tiny Treasures Scissor Fob Exchange
I received a lovely fob from Jenna for this Exchange. It’s already attached itself to a pair of very sharp purple scissors that I use to cut my stitching fabric. Jenna also included a selection of gourmet herbal  teas.

Tiny Treasures Scissor Fob from Jenna

Tiny Treasures Scissor Fob from Jenna

Teas from Jenna

Teas from Jenna

Thank you, Jenna, I especially enjoyed the ginger tea 🙂

Happy Stitching everyone – got to go and get ready for work! Did I tell you that I’m back at work? I’ll tell you all about it in my next post!

Pokua

Certified X-stitch addict and lover of tea, fabrics and beads. I work in the vocational education and training sector and in my spare time potter around in the garden growing roses. I'm mum to two adult children of whom I'm very proud.

Posted in Cross stitch
7 comments on “Cyber Time Warp and Gifts From Afar!
  1. Natalija says:

    Wonderful gifts, Pokua 🙂
    Have a great weekend!

  2. Patti says:

    Really wonderful gifts Pokua and strange things happen in cyberspace sometimes. Hope you have a great weekend. Love Patti xxx

  3. Barbara says:

    That’s a weird time warp indeed!

    But your snail mail goodies are great – enjoy!! 😀

    PS: Last night I had another pot of the wonderful tea you sent!

  4. Lisa says:

    Hi Pokua, I received your email, but going through my blog it did not give me your return email. Can you pls email me on lisavv2675 (at)hotmail (dot) com I would also love to get together with you seeing as we are not that far away from each other.
    Cheers LISA.

  5. Cindy F. says:

    Just found your blog through Carol R’s blog!
    You have a wonderful place here and your stitchings are beautiful…incredible finishes too!
    Love your gifts/exchanges you received:)

  6. Gaynor says:

    I love the scissor fob..how did you make it?? How is the trim etc attached? lol
    I cant do organised..I do creative. It has its advantages, I felt I was doing chores when I was on a rota and felt I was failing when I couldnt keep to it..though I have a lot of respect for those who can keep to a rota..well done you guys!

    The biscornu is lovely..very nice.
    lol
    gaynor

  7. xangles says:

    Hi, Gaynor
    I’ve stitched the front and back pieces together in the normal way, i.e. do backstitches round all sides of the design on both pieces of fabric, then join them by slip stitching together, except adding a bead between each slip stitch. Check out the instructions/photos for this on Vonna’s (The Twisted Stitcher) blog and check out Step 4 -mattress pincushion to see how this is done. I left the top end (where the cording will go) open and filled the fob with wadding. I made the cording with DMC No 5 pearl thread using a red gismo called a Spinster, then inserted the cording at the top, glueing it in place with a little fabric glue before slip stitching/beading it closed after filling. I then made the tassel and attached it by invisible slip stitching to the centre of the bottom part of the fob. It’s difficult to explain without piccies. Let me know if any of this makes sense. I’ll try and do a step by step with photos next time I put one together to help you do it. Not difficult, just needs a little patience.
    {hugs] Pokua

Leave a Reply

About Me

A certified cross stitch addict who is mad about samplers and loves working with hand-dyed fabric, variegated threads and embellishments. Stitching keeps me sane.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Follow Me on Pinterest
Archives
2012 Stitching Plans

1. WIPs - finish 4:
- DT Sampler Game Board
- Workbasket's Trellis (done)
- DT Morning Glory
- LK ABC Lessons

2. New Stitching Projects
Plymouth Sampler - TSC (started)
Wonderful Village 1 - MaggiCo (done)
Wonderful Village 2 - MaggiCo (done)
Pear Orchard Farm - CHS (done)
Mermaid's Song - CHS
Dutch Strawberries - TGH
Birds in the Bower - TGH
Persian Proverb - MB
Peaceful Garden - MB
Sampler 1663 - PoC

Finished Fair Squares
2011 Stitching
2010 Stitching
2009 Stitching
Many thanks for visiting. See you again soon!
Visits From Friends
  • 39,798
AURIbuzz

Your window into the world of Aurifil

LRstitched | Lindsey Rhodes

creative inspiration

* Between Crosses with Nina *

my stitching journey

X Stitch Gallery

my stitching journey

Willing Hands

my stitching journey

Victorian Motto Sampler Shoppe

my stitching journey

World of My Dreams

my stitching journey

Un punto e una croce

my stitching journey

my stitching journey

Tussie Mussie

my stitching journey

Asta Rio Design Fashions

my stitching journey

The world according to Ági

my stitching journey

Threadgatherer

my stitching journey

The Stitching Muse

my stitching journey

The Purple Thread

my stitching journey

THE NEEDLE'S PROMISE

my stitching journey

The Crewel Gobelin Chit Chat

my stitching journey

