I’m Back in Town!

Hello Stitching Friends

It’s been way too long since my last entry on this blog. Believe me, It’s not at all what I’d intended. Life has a way of unravelling one’s plans and taking one on unexpected journeys into places and situations that one would probably not venture into left to oneself. Let me cut a long story short! As I’d mentioned in my previous post, I went on holidays to Ghana, where I come from originally. I’d intended to stay for 2 months and ended up spending 4½ months.

My trip was a bundle of mixed feelings:
emotional – it was my first trip back home after my dad passed away 4 yrs ago. I slept in my room in my childhood home in which we haven’t lived for 30 years
happy – I caught up with friends I hadn’t seen in many many years and we had a ball; felt like I’d returned to my teenage years of carefree living
exciting – I did things and went to places I hadn’t done nor been before; things happened that I didn’t expect to happen.
My internet access in Ghana  turned out to be so unreliable, everytime I tried to publish to WordPress, my whole system would crash. After a while, I gave up trying to post to my blog. 

The real drama began after I returned to Perth at the beginning of September. A week after I arrived I fell gravely ill with cerebral malaria. I was rushed to Royal Perth Hospital in an ambulance and was in intensive care for a week. For three days it was touch and go and I have no recollection of what happened during that time, except for what I’ve been told by my family. I’ve been recuperating from this terrible illness and have only managed to start stitching again in the last week. So much for the relaxing holiday! My family is still reeling from the experience, and I’m just so grateful to be alive 😆

Here are some photos of stash enhancements from the trip, namely Ghanaian beads and fabrics…

Below are strings of small beads, traditionally worn around the hips

 Here are larger beads for necklaces and bracelets

Here are three fabrics – I’ll show you the costumes I had made from them later


These are just a few of them for now to whet your appetites. Flickr is not being very cooperative, so I won’t push my luck. I did a bit of stitching and received some fantastic stitching gifts from cybermates while I was away. I’m also starting a PIF soo, but that’s another blog post.

Until the next post, Happy Stitching to all of you. It’s such a good feeling to be doing this again!

Pokua

Certified X-stitch addict and lover of tea, fabrics and beads. I work in the vocational education and training sector and in my spare time potter around in the garden growing roses. I'm mum to two adult children of whom I'm very proud.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Ghana
One comment on “I’m Back in Town!
  1. Barbara says:

    OMG! That is so scary! I’m so glad you’re getting better now. Please take care and don’t overdo it!

Leave a Reply

About Me

A certified cross stitch addict who is mad about samplers and loves working with hand-dyed fabric, variegated threads and embellishments. Stitching keeps me sane.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers

Follow Me on Pinterest
Archives
2012 Stitching Plans

1. WIPs - finish 4:
- DT Sampler Game Board
- Workbasket's Trellis (done)
- DT Morning Glory
- LK ABC Lessons

2. New Stitching Projects
Plymouth Sampler - TSC (started)
Wonderful Village 1 - MaggiCo (done)
Wonderful Village 2 - MaggiCo (done)
Pear Orchard Farm - CHS (done)
Mermaid's Song - CHS
Dutch Strawberries - TGH
Birds in the Bower - TGH
Persian Proverb - MB
Peaceful Garden - MB
Sampler 1663 - PoC

Finished Fair Squares
2011 Stitching
2010 Stitching
2009 Stitching
Many thanks for visiting. See you again soon!
Visits From Friends
  • 40,150
AURIbuzz

Your window into the world of Aurifil

LRstitched | Lindsey Rhodes

creative inspiration

* Between Crosses with Nina *

my stitching journey

X Stitch Gallery

my stitching journey

Willing Hands

my stitching journey

Victorian Motto Sampler Shoppe

my stitching journey

World of My Dreams

my stitching journey

Un punto e una croce

my stitching journey

Asta Rio Design Fashions

my stitching journey

Tussie Mussie

my stitching journey

my stitching journey

Threadgatherer

my stitching journey

The world according to Ági

my stitching journey

The Stitching Muse

my stitching journey

The Purple Thread

my stitching journey

THE NEEDLE'S PROMISE

my stitching journey

The Crewel Gobelin Chit Chat

my stitching journey

