Fence Painting and Other Creative Pursuits

Hello stitching friends

Have been meaning to post updates of what I’ve been up to, but have been too busy catching up on everyone’s blog. And my, have you people been busy ❗ I just drool seeing all the beautiful stitching happening everywhere – SALs, exchanges, WIPs, finished pieces… I never cease to be amazed by the generosity of stitchers around the world and I feel truly privileged to have stitching friends. I’ve also caught up with all the new designs released from Nashville and I must admit, I’ve been sorely tempted to enhance stash, but … resisting temptation not to buy any stash in 2008 😦 

So, what have I been up to? First, I’ve been painting fences. Our 5-yr long home renovation is now in the exterior phase. Just before Christmas we had a new patio put up. The old one was a low flat one that made you feel like crouching when you went outside. The new one’s a very generous gable patio that gives us lots of room to entertain. Anyway, I thought I’d better get the fence painted now, so I can do some planting when  autumn comes – if we have one this year, that is. It’s been so hot 😳  Yesterday we hit 39°C; today was a ‘milder’ 33°C. Painting is fun and I quite enjoy the rhythmic process involved . What’s plain inconvenient is having to wake up very early in the morning to paint, otherwise it’s too hot by mid-morning. This is what the fence at the front of the house looks like now. The colour’s a deep olive green – looks charcoal grey in the piccie, but trust me…

 

I’m having fun working through the design as I imagine the colours for the outdoor area – fencing, plants and other features. I’d love a water feature and sculpture of  some sort. I’m also looking forward to starting a veggie patch.  This is what the fence is looking like with a bit of colour added in by way of plants….

And I’ve kept up with some stitching. I stitched and framed LHN The Harvesters as present for a very dear friend of mine. I’m taking it to her in Ghana when I visit next month. Can’t show it here yet, as I want to surprise her. In the meantime, here are a few of my WIPs…

1) Stitcher’s Pouch Accessoires Quaker AMAP – I’m stitching this in non-traditional colours, fern green 32c belfast fabric with DMC 355

2) Country Threads – Fiona Jude

3) Virtue Series/Love – Carriage House Samplings

Wishing you all a great weekend and Happy Stitching 😉  

Certified X-stitch addict and lover of tea, fabrics and beads. I work in the vocational education and training sector and in my spare time potter around in the garden growing roses. I'm mum to two adult children of whom I'm very proud.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in AMAP, Australiana, Cross stitch
3 comments on “Fence Painting and Other Creative Pursuits
  1. Barbara says:

    Oooh, I just LOVE that CHS series. It’s on my mental wish list… 😉

  2. Monique says:

    I really like the colors on Love! I’d love to have a water feature in our yard… but none of us is very handy with the outdoorsy stuff; we’d totally have to hire a landscaper 🙂

  3. Joanne says:

    Your wips are looking great.

Leave a Reply

About Me

A certified cross stitch addict who is mad about samplers and loves working with hand-dyed fabric, variegated threads and embellishments. Stitching keeps me sane.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Follow Me on Pinterest
Archives
2012 Stitching Plans

1. WIPs - finish 4:
- DT Sampler Game Board
- Workbasket's Trellis (done)
- DT Morning Glory
- LK ABC Lessons

2. New Stitching Projects
Plymouth Sampler - TSC (started)
Wonderful Village 1 - MaggiCo (done)
Wonderful Village 2 - MaggiCo (done)
Pear Orchard Farm - CHS (done)
Mermaid's Song - CHS
Dutch Strawberries - TGH
Birds in the Bower - TGH
Persian Proverb - MB
Peaceful Garden - MB
Sampler 1663 - PoC

Finished Fair Squares
2011 Stitching
2010 Stitching
2009 Stitching
Many thanks for visiting. See you again soon!
Visits From Friends
  • 39,789
AURIbuzz

Your window into the world of Aurifil

LRstitched | Lindsey Rhodes

creative inspiration

* Between Crosses with Nina *

my stitching journey

X Stitch Gallery

my stitching journey

Willing Hands

my stitching journey

Victorian Motto Sampler Shoppe

my stitching journey

World of My Dreams

my stitching journey

Un punto e una croce

my stitching journey

my stitching journey

Tussie Mussie

my stitching journey

Asta Rio Design Fashions

my stitching journey

The world according to Ági

my stitching journey

Threadgatherer

my stitching journey

The Stitching Muse

my stitching journey

The Purple Thread

my stitching journey

THE NEEDLE'S PROMISE

my stitching journey

The Crewel Gobelin Chit Chat

my stitching journey

