It’s Been a While…

Hello, stitching buddies. It’s been a while since I’ve been here. I’ve been away at an Adult Literacy conference in Cairns, Queensland since last Thursday and got back home yesterday afternoon, via Uluru (Ayers Rock). Here are a few pics of this mini trip….

View of Abbot Street from the balcony of the Cairns International Hotel

And here I am at the lookout to Uluru (Ayer’s Rock) close to the Visitor’s Centre (next photo). The Rock is truly awesome! Unfortunately, due to time constraints (had only 1½ hrs in transit) I wasn’t able to get closer. Definitely on my list of 1001 things to do.

 http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2137/1977664590_9c159becf8.jpg

Didn’t take any stitching with me on the trip, so have fallen a little behind with my projects. But, I had a fantastic time with colleagues, meeting adult literacy practitioners from around Australia and making new friends 🙂

Ok…before you ask “Where’s the stitching?” First, I have to confess to a bout of serial starter syndrome 😉 I’d been resisting the urge to start a new pattern, but finally capitulated… I’ve been wanting to get my stitchy fingers into a pattern that was cheerful and uncomplicated, in colours I don’t usually stitch with. Just for a change, you know?

Here’s one which fit the bill exactly. I’ve put my own spin on it with choice of thread colour  (Anchor 1344 Variegated) and will be stitching in beads, mettalic threads and paillettes to add texture and interest.  A few shots to show you how it’s progressing…

 

Ok, gotta go…. Need to catch up with my stitching Happy stitching to you all 😉

Certified X-stitch addict and lover of tea, fabrics and beads. I work in the vocational education and training sector and in my spare time potter around in the garden growing roses. I'm mum to two adult children of whom I'm very proud.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Bent Creek, Cross stitch, Samplers
8 comments on “It’s Been a While…
  1. Barbara says:

    I love-love your progress pictures! How artistic and fun!! 😀

    Looks like you’ve been busy, but also managed to sneak in a bit of fun. Good for you!

  2. MarieP says:

    My do you lead an exciting life! Your travels take you to some very interesting and beautiful places.
    Your latest project looks festive with the fabulous fibers and colors.

  3. Sonda in OR says:

    Looks lovely!!! Could that be a “swirly” star I see???

  4. peacefultime says:

    Hi,

    Wow!!Nice view photos!!
    You had a good tomes!
    And beads,Spangle…many,many,many!!
    I’m looking foward how use to their.

    Sachiko

  5. domy says:

    I will come back soon on your blog to see the result of your work, the Anchor color is very beautiful and the beads are cute too.
    Thanks for the pictures

  6. Seema says:

    Great trip, great photos and great stitching, looks like life is very very interesting. How did you manage it all so well !!

  7. xangles says:

    Thank you all so much for your emcouraging comments! Will show you my progress soon!

  8. Aniza says:

    Awesome pictures! I have to say I love your colours of yr WIP Swirly Sampler. I have mine done half way…need to dig it out LOL.

Leave a Reply

About Me

A certified cross stitch addict who is mad about samplers and loves working with hand-dyed fabric, variegated threads and embellishments. Stitching keeps me sane.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Follow Me on Pinterest
Archives
2012 Stitching Plans

1. WIPs - finish 4:
- DT Sampler Game Board
- Workbasket's Trellis (done)
- DT Morning Glory
- LK ABC Lessons

2. New Stitching Projects
Plymouth Sampler - TSC (started)
Wonderful Village 1 - MaggiCo (done)
Wonderful Village 2 - MaggiCo (done)
Pear Orchard Farm - CHS (done)
Mermaid's Song - CHS
Dutch Strawberries - TGH
Birds in the Bower - TGH
Persian Proverb - MB
Peaceful Garden - MB
Sampler 1663 - PoC

Finished Fair Squares
2011 Stitching
2010 Stitching
2009 Stitching
Many thanks for visiting. See you again soon!
Visits From Friends
  • 39,942
AURIbuzz

Your window into the world of Aurifil

LRstitched | Lindsey Rhodes

creative inspiration

* Between Crosses with Nina *

my stitching journey

X Stitch Gallery

my stitching journey

Willing Hands

my stitching journey

Victorian Motto Sampler Shoppe

my stitching journey

World of My Dreams

my stitching journey

Un punto e una croce

my stitching journey

Asta Rio Design Fashions

my stitching journey

Tussie Mussie

my stitching journey

my stitching journey

Threadgatherer

my stitching journey

The world according to Ági

my stitching journey

The Stitching Muse

my stitching journey

The Purple Thread

my stitching journey

THE NEEDLE'S PROMISE

my stitching journey

The Crewel Gobelin Chit Chat

my stitching journey

