Two Weddings and…. an Outfit!

No sign of anything at all for many a year, then suddenly, bang! Two weddings in two months! You may recall I told you about attending my nephew’s wedding in Adelaide, South Australia last month. Well, another nephew is getting married in Sydney, New South Wales next Saturday 20 October. It’s also my 23rd wedding anniversary tomorrow 14 october. The pixies must have sprinkled wedding dust around here!

I’ve been feverishly getting my outfit together for the wedding so haven’t had much spare time for stitching. This is what I’ve managed to whip up… a simple outfit which I’m hoping will rise to the occassion when it all comes together with the help of a few (red?) accessories 0 haven’t decided on those yet!) The top is made from a gold embroidered silk fabric with lovely florals with tinges of red in the embriodered petals (see close up of fabric). The long skirt is made froma plain gold dupioni sik fabric. Well, this is what the outfit looks like…. Please excuse the poor photography – still on my ‘L’ plates for this type of photo shoot.

I’m just about to get started on my DD’s outfit. Yikes! time’s getting very tight.  She coudn’t find anything she liked in the shops, so decided at the last minute that she wanted me to make her something. We rushed out and did a quick trip to Spotlight, our local fabric/craft superstore yesterday. I’ll show you what she’s designed in a couple of days when I have something that resembles an outfit.

Even though I enjoy sewing, my real love is cross stitch. Can’t wait to get back to it …. can’t remember what I was last stitching😕 Been too long already! Hope you all have the time to slip in a few stitches on your current projects!

Certified X-stitch addict and lover of tea, fabrics and beads. I work in the vocational education and training sector and in my spare time potter around in the garden growing roses. I'm mum to two adult children of whom I'm very proud.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Cross stitch, sewing
10 comments on “Two Weddings and…. an Outfit!
  1. Joanne says:

    That outfit is sure to help you to rise to the occassion, just stunning. I love your ornament, well done.

  2. xangles says:

    Thanks Joanne. Since I began blogging and sharing with all my cyberfriends my stitching and sewing are no longer a private experience and I’m really enjoying it

  3. peacefultime says:

    Hi,

    I think wonderful that you had two weddings !!
    This fabric is so beutiful!!I think it to become you beacuse very gorgeous outfit.

    Choko

  4. xangles says:

    Thanks, Choko. I’ll send you photos from the Sydney wedding later. What are you stitching now?

  5. domy says:

    Hello, I’m Domy from France and I’m visiting your blog !
    Don’t worry every stitchers in the world haven’t got enough time to stitch all what they’d like !

    Very beautiful fabric for this amazing outfit. You’re very talented ! Congratulations !

  6. xangles says:

    Hi, Domy. You’re right… I’m back into my stitching and enjoying it all the more after the short break away!
    Thanks for visiting my blog and thanks for the compliments 🙂

  7. Helen says:

    Phew at last 8-)) I have found your blog again !! Your outfit for the wedding is stunning and I look forward to seeing what your daughter has decided on you making for her 🙂
    Enjoy your week ahead

  8. xangles says:

    Hi Helen. Thanks for reminding me about DD’s outfit – I’ll post it soon. She loved it, and we all had a ball at the wedding in sydney.
    Thanks for visiting …

  9. Marie says:

    Wow, the outfit that you stitched is amazing! Had to re-read the blog entry to make sure I read it right~you stitched, not bought, that beauty! Fantastic job.

  10. xangles says:

    All honour due to my mother, who is a talented seamstress. I was raised with a sewing machine, needles and pins…Thanks Mum!

Leave a Reply

About Me

A certified cross stitch addict who is mad about samplers and loves working with hand-dyed fabric, variegated threads and embellishments. Stitching keeps me sane.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Follow Me on Pinterest
Archives
2012 Stitching Plans

1. WIPs - finish 4:
- DT Sampler Game Board
- Workbasket's Trellis (done)
- DT Morning Glory
- LK ABC Lessons

2. New Stitching Projects
Plymouth Sampler - TSC (started)
Wonderful Village 1 - MaggiCo (done)
Wonderful Village 2 - MaggiCo (done)
Pear Orchard Farm - CHS (done)
Mermaid's Song - CHS
Dutch Strawberries - TGH
Birds in the Bower - TGH
Persian Proverb - MB
Peaceful Garden - MB
Sampler 1663 - PoC

Finished Fair Squares
2011 Stitching
2010 Stitching
2009 Stitching
Many thanks for visiting. See you again soon!
Visits From Friends
  • 39,933
AURIbuzz

Your window into the world of Aurifil

LRstitched | Lindsey Rhodes

creative inspiration

* Between Crosses with Nina *

my stitching journey

X Stitch Gallery

my stitching journey

Willing Hands

my stitching journey

Victorian Motto Sampler Shoppe

my stitching journey

World of My Dreams

my stitching journey

Un punto e una croce

my stitching journey

Asta Rio Design Fashions

my stitching journey

Tussie Mussie

my stitching journey

my stitching journey

Threadgatherer

my stitching journey

The world according to Ági

my stitching journey

The Stitching Muse

my stitching journey

The Purple Thread

my stitching journey

THE NEEDLE'S PROMISE

my stitching journey

The Crewel Gobelin Chit Chat

my stitching journey

