Eve – A Work In Progress

Thought I’d share this WIP I started stitching on 23/6/06. I’ve always liked this pattern – something very earthy and original about it appeals to me. Due to a number of non-stitching related distractions I wasn’t able to progress it much until last weekend, when I dedicated about 6 hours to it.  Looking good, I think. Here it is in my table top stitching frame…

Here’s a close-up of Eve….

 I’m thinking that I want to frame this one once it’s finished.

Many thanks to all my cyberfriends who visit my blog and who share their time and friendship with me.

I am grateful for stitching time in my busy life

Certified X-stitch addict and lover of tea, fabrics and beads. I work in the vocational education and training sector and in my spare time potter around in the garden growing roses. I'm mum to two adult children of whom I'm very proud.

Tagged with:
Posted in Cross stitch, Eve, La-D-Da
11 comments on “Eve – A Work In Progress
  1. Barbara says:

    I don’t have this chart, but I’ve always liked it. Your progress is great. 🙂

  2. xangles says:

    It is a lovely chart – looking forward to finishing and seeing it framed.Barbara, your WordPress blog is deleted.Have you got another blog?

  3. Joanne says:

    Your stitching is beautiful.

  4. xangles says:

    Thanks, Joanne. I’ve also been quietly watching HAED Gypsy Rose come to life on your blog and been admiring your stitching. Looking forward to your finish
    Pokua

  5. Seema says:

    Its beautiful and exquisite Pokua, I can’t sow or crossstitch or embroider but i do some painting (self taught)in all media and i can tell you such a beautiful work of art as yours is, is a joy forever.

  6. Dani says:

    What an interesting design.

  7. xangles says:

    Hi Seema, I think we’d make a perfect pair. I cannot draw or paint to save my life, though my brother(architect) and my son (wants to study digital multimedia) are both highly artistic. With cross stitch I’m able to ‘paint’ pictures with my needle and threads.

  8. Marie says:

    I am such a fan of La-D-Da ~ I am anxious to see this as you progress. Wonderful work!
    Luck you: 6 hours of stitching! I haven’t stitched 6 minutes lately 🙂

  9. Barbara J says:

    Hi there!

    Thanks for coming by my blog 🙂

    1/1 is difficult in the beginning but you’ll get used to it, like everything else :p I use the Daylight Magnifying Lens, without which it’ll be almost impossible with these old eyes even with glasses 😉

    On 30ct it’ll even be smaller. I am stitching on 25ct Lugana and I’ve read that when stitching 1/1 evenweave is easier. Linen will be a challenge but a worthwhile one.

    You know what, I was stitching To Laugh Often when I got your comment. I’ve progressed much since then and will post a WIP pic on Sunday, come by again and maybe I could ‘convince’ you to start on it immediately 😀

    You do great stitching and your finishings are perfect!

  10. xangles says:

    Hi, Dani. Yeah, it’s a one of a kind really. One of my few patterns that is not a sampler, I guess. The pattern I’ve chosen for you (F&S) is coming along very nicely. I’ll keep you in suspense for a little while.

  11. xangles says:

    Thanks for your compliments, Barbara J. I’m only a beginner re finishes other than framing. That’s been an aim of mine this year. Judy O’Dell’s books have been a great resource. I’ve stitched Irish Blessing as a memorial to my Dad who passed away 3yrs ago. It took careful stitching, and like you, I don’t think it will be possible without a magnifier.Look forward to an update on To Laugh Often. Happy stitching

Leave a Reply

About Me

A certified cross stitch addict who is mad about samplers and loves working with hand-dyed fabric, variegated threads and embellishments. Stitching keeps me sane.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Follow Me on Pinterest
Archives
2012 Stitching Plans

1. WIPs - finish 4:
- DT Sampler Game Board
- Workbasket's Trellis (done)
- DT Morning Glory
- LK ABC Lessons

2. New Stitching Projects
Plymouth Sampler - TSC (started)
Wonderful Village 1 - MaggiCo (done)
Wonderful Village 2 - MaggiCo (done)
Pear Orchard Farm - CHS (done)
Mermaid's Song - CHS
Dutch Strawberries - TGH
Birds in the Bower - TGH
Persian Proverb - MB
Peaceful Garden - MB
Sampler 1663 - PoC

Finished Fair Squares
2011 Stitching
2010 Stitching
2009 Stitching
Many thanks for visiting. See you again soon!
Visits From Friends
  • 39,798
AURIbuzz

Your window into the world of Aurifil

LRstitched | Lindsey Rhodes

creative inspiration

* Between Crosses with Nina *

my stitching journey

X Stitch Gallery

my stitching journey

Willing Hands

my stitching journey

Victorian Motto Sampler Shoppe

my stitching journey

World of My Dreams

my stitching journey

Un punto e una croce

my stitching journey

my stitching journey

Tussie Mussie

my stitching journey

Asta Rio Design Fashions

my stitching journey

The world according to Ági

my stitching journey

Threadgatherer

my stitching journey

The Stitching Muse

my stitching journey

The Purple Thread

my stitching journey

THE NEEDLE'S PROMISE

my stitching journey

The Crewel Gobelin Chit Chat

my stitching journey

