My, How Time Flies… and Other Stories

Amazing how time gets away from you! Been meaning to update this blog for a while now, but… Let me explain! For a start, I went on a work trip to Melbourne for 3 days (8-11 Aug). Thanks to Maria and all her staff at Frankston TAFE for hosting a fantastic conference 😀  

My return journey was quite an adventure, though. We flew (Virgin) to Perth on Friday evening 10/8 only to circle around in the air for half an hour and fly back to Melbourne, where we arrived at 3:00am EST 11/8. We were promised accommodation, which did not eventuate. After collecting our luggage off the carousel, we sat on the floor in the arrivals hall until 5:00am, when we were asked to check in for a 6:00am flight back to Perth. That flight did not leave Melbourne until 8:30am. By this time quite a number of us were furious, particularly because we were not told the reason for the delay, except for just one announcement the night before that we were unable to land in Perth due to fog. The only compensation offered? Free coffee/tea and free access to Foxtel during the flight! We finally arrived in Perth at 1:00am on Sat 11/8. I had the flu for 2 weeks as a result. Not Happy, Virgin!

And then last week the whole family flew down to Adelaide, South Australia to attend a family wedding. My nephew Kwasi got married to his long time girfriend Yoko from Japan. It was absolutely gorgeous! and we had such a fun time…

Then again, I ve been busy stitching my Fair & Square exchange piece so haven’t had much else stitched that I could show you.  Look what I received from Vicky, my Fair & Square Exchange partner 😀

Fair & Square Block from Vicky

Wait, there’s more! My online purchasing fingers have been busy and look what happened A stash enhancement experience from A Mon Ami Pierre in France.

 

 

What’s in the stash?

  •  Un petit fil m’a dit – Isabelle Vautier
  • Tout Bleu – De fil en aiguille magazine
  • Chemin de table quaker AMAP
  • Accessoire quaker AMAP
  • Arbre aux oiseaux AMAP
  • Octogonal quaker et son coeur AMAP
  • 6 Vikki Clayton silk threads

Can’t wait to get stitching. Now all I need are 30hr days….. Happy stitching to all fellow stitchers!

Certified X-stitch addict and lover of tea, fabrics and beads. I work in the vocational education and training sector and in my spare time potter around in the garden growing roses. I'm mum to two adult children of whom I'm very proud.

Tagged with:
Posted in Cross stitch
8 comments on “My, How Time Flies… and Other Stories
  1. Barbara says:

    Oh boy, how did you stop yourself from stitching long enough to write this post?!

  2. xangles says:

    Hi, Barbara – Just had to release it all! Spent the evening rummaging through my stuff looking for another small project between the big ones… Thanks for visiting

  3. peacefultime says:

    Hello!!
    I’m glad to talk with you!!
    Fair & Square exchange stich is so beutifull!i love it color.
    Wow!!!Your nephew married with Japanese!!
    Congratulations!!! I’m glad, too!!!

    You bought many chart by AMAP.I love their patterns,too.
    I’m looking foward your next stich!

    Choko

  4. xangles says:

    Hi, Choko. Thanks for your visit. I’ll send you some photos of the very beautiful wedding. Maybe we shoud do a SAL with one of the AMAP patterns?

    Pokua

  5. Dani says:

    Lovely F&S to receive! Now to find soemthing to stitch for you… you’re my round 3 partner!

  6. xangles says:

    Hi, Dani. Great to have you as my partner! Doing a bit of detective work to select something to stitch for you as well. Look forward… cheers,
    Pokua

  7. wyora says:

    Wow, you picked up some fantastic stash from AMAP. I really love her patterns. The F&S block you received is gorgeous. Round 3 should be a lot of fun!

  8. xangles says:

    Hi, Wyora. Yes a sizeable stash – now I need the time to stitch them all! I’m all set to go for F&S Round 3 – really enjoyed doing Round 2…
    Happy stitching!

Leave a Reply

About Me

A certified cross stitch addict who is mad about samplers and loves working with hand-dyed fabric, variegated threads and embellishments. Stitching keeps me sane.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers

Follow Me on Pinterest
Archives
2012 Stitching Plans

1. WIPs - finish 4:
- DT Sampler Game Board
- Workbasket's Trellis (done)
- DT Morning Glory
- LK ABC Lessons

2. New Stitching Projects
Plymouth Sampler - TSC (started)
Wonderful Village 1 - MaggiCo (done)
Wonderful Village 2 - MaggiCo (done)
Pear Orchard Farm - CHS (done)
Mermaid's Song - CHS
Dutch Strawberries - TGH
Birds in the Bower - TGH
Persian Proverb - MB
Peaceful Garden - MB
Sampler 1663 - PoC

Finished Fair Squares
2011 Stitching
2010 Stitching
2009 Stitching
Many thanks for visiting. See you again soon!
Visits From Friends
  • 40,150
AURIbuzz

Your window into the world of Aurifil

LRstitched | Lindsey Rhodes

creative inspiration

* Between Crosses with Nina *

my stitching journey

X Stitch Gallery

my stitching journey

Willing Hands

my stitching journey

Victorian Motto Sampler Shoppe

my stitching journey

World of My Dreams

my stitching journey

Un punto e una croce

my stitching journey

Asta Rio Design Fashions

my stitching journey

Tussie Mussie

my stitching journey

my stitching journey

Threadgatherer

my stitching journey

The world according to Ági

my stitching journey

The Stitching Muse

my stitching journey

The Purple Thread

my stitching journey

THE NEEDLE'S PROMISE

my stitching journey

The Crewel Gobelin Chit Chat

my stitching journey

