Shimmering Mermaid

One stitching project I did a couple of years ago – Shimmering Mermaid, Mirabilia Designs – launched me straight into a love of using beads in my stitching . This one had more beads in it than crosses, I think ;).  I so loved stitching this one that I completed it in record time. The mettalic threads were a bit of a challenge, but thanks to Thread Heaven, my sanity was preserved. The photos do not to it justice. My LNS borrowed it to display with other stitched Mirabilia Designs at a craft show. Well, here it is….

Certified X-stitch addict and lover of tea, fabrics and beads. I work in the vocational education and training sector and in my spare time potter around in the garden growing roses. I'm mum to two adult children of whom I'm very proud.

Tagged with:
Posted in Cross stitch, Mirabilia, Shimmering Mermaid
6 comments on “Shimmering Mermaid
  1. choko says:

    Hi Pokua,
    What a very beutiful Mermaid!!And beads are very beutiful,too!!
    Your daughter maked nice Slide Show.

  2. xangles says:

    Thanks, Choko. I’m learning something new everyday. Love the interplay between the old (cross stitch) and the new (technology).

  3. Lesley says:

    Wow – your Shimmering Mermaid is just beautiful! I have the chart in my stash and itchy fingers! LOL

  4. xangles says:

    Thanks,Lesley. If you love beading, you’ll really enjoy this one.

  5. hannie says:

    Your mermaid is gorgeous! You stitched beautifully. Im still choosing a fabric dont like to stitched it on a 32 count but on a 14 count fabric. Any suggestion on what color to use? Is sky blue or light blue ok? I hope mine will come out like yours. Oh by the way what fabric did you use?

  6. xangles says:

    Hi, Hannie. Thanks for the compliments. I used the 32 count Amsterdam Blue prescribed on the pattern. I think an alternative such as Twilight Blue (Zweigart), which is lighter than the Amesterdam, would work just as well. You can buy that in 28 count linen as well, and that is equivalent to 14 count Aida. I wouldn’t advise stitching it on Aida – because it has larger holes and will detract from the fine beadwork. My eyesight is not as good as it used to be, but I’m hooked on 32 count fabric, so I always stitch with magnifiers. I have one clamped to my work desk and another light plastic one that I wear over my neck when I’m stitching elsewhere. It’s a little complicated at the start, but once you get going, it really fun. Don’t forget to use Thread Heaven – it will save your sanity. Please don’t hesitate to contact me me if you need any more info.Hope this helps, and good luck with your project.
    Pokua

Leave a Reply

About Me

A certified cross stitch addict who is mad about samplers and loves working with hand-dyed fabric, variegated threads and embellishments. Stitching keeps me sane.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Follow Me on Pinterest
Archives
2012 Stitching Plans

1. WIPs - finish 4:
- DT Sampler Game Board
- Workbasket's Trellis (done)
- DT Morning Glory
- LK ABC Lessons

2. New Stitching Projects
Plymouth Sampler - TSC (started)
Wonderful Village 1 - MaggiCo (done)
Wonderful Village 2 - MaggiCo (done)
Pear Orchard Farm - CHS (done)
Mermaid's Song - CHS
Dutch Strawberries - TGH
Birds in the Bower - TGH
Persian Proverb - MB
Peaceful Garden - MB
Sampler 1663 - PoC

Finished Fair Squares
2011 Stitching
2010 Stitching
2009 Stitching
Many thanks for visiting. See you again soon!
Visits From Friends
  • 39,933
AURIbuzz

Your window into the world of Aurifil

LRstitched | Lindsey Rhodes

creative inspiration

* Between Crosses with Nina *

my stitching journey

X Stitch Gallery

my stitching journey

Willing Hands

my stitching journey

Victorian Motto Sampler Shoppe

my stitching journey

World of My Dreams

my stitching journey

Un punto e una croce

my stitching journey

Asta Rio Design Fashions

my stitching journey

Tussie Mussie

my stitching journey

my stitching journey

Threadgatherer

my stitching journey

The world according to Ági

my stitching journey

The Stitching Muse

my stitching journey

The Purple Thread

my stitching journey

THE NEEDLE'S PROMISE

my stitching journey

The Crewel Gobelin Chit Chat

my stitching journey

