Travels Abroad

Hello Stitching Friends!

It’s been a while. Already mid-February and I’m only just getting into the swing of 2013. Doesn’t sound like a good start, does it? But I’m not letting that worry me one bit.  For most of 2012, I felt like my life was a race to catch up.  So I decided that 2013 is the year of ‘at my own pace’.  Anyway, the year ended well, with a fantastic overseas trip with my whole family. We went to Accra, Ghana (where I was born) to visit family and attend a wedding. Apparently the New York Times has rated Accra one of the top places to visit in 2013.  We also did a stopover in Dubai, UAR. Here are some photos from the trip – Warning, image heavy post!

Stopover in Dubai

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Dinner Cruise in this Dhow on the Dubai Creek

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yours truly sampling the smorgasbord

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh, the choices!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At the Dubai Museum

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lining up to get to The Top – Burj Khalifa, the tallest building in the world

and on to Ghana

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My family home where I grew up in Accra

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At the Movenpick Hotel, Accra

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

DS – Coconut Grove Beach Resort

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Doing the Tree Top Walk at Kakum National Park

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We had to negotiate six of these – quite daunting!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On the way to the Owurobong waterfall, Kwahu

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cooling off in the water at the falls

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

a few of the fabric purchases

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Auntie Tina’s Fabric kiosk

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Such beautiful Ghanaian fabrics!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

An evening at the +233 Jazz Club

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

DD’s BF at Elmina Castle, which used to be a slave fort

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

DD – Coconut Grove Beach Resort

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Coconut Grove Beach

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

View from our villa at Coconut Grove Beach Resort

IMG_0294

All done up for the wedding – L to R: DS, DD, My Mum and Myself

Certified X-stitch addict and lover of tea, fabrics and beads. I work in the vocational education and training sector and in my spare time potter around in the garden growing roses. I'm mum to two adult children of whom I'm very proud.

Posted in Cross stitch
One comment on “Travels Abroad
  1. Lili says:

    Hello!Welcome back!
    How nice pictures!!
    The fabrics are amazing!!!
    Happy stitching x

Leave a Reply

About Me

A certified cross stitch addict who is mad about samplers and loves working with hand-dyed fabric, variegated threads and embellishments. Stitching keeps me sane.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers

Follow Me on Pinterest
Archives
2012 Stitching Plans

1. WIPs - finish 4:
- DT Sampler Game Board
- Workbasket's Trellis (done)
- DT Morning Glory
- LK ABC Lessons

2. New Stitching Projects
Plymouth Sampler - TSC (started)
Wonderful Village 1 - MaggiCo (done)
Wonderful Village 2 - MaggiCo (done)
Pear Orchard Farm - CHS (done)
Mermaid's Song - CHS
Dutch Strawberries - TGH
Birds in the Bower - TGH
Persian Proverb - MB
Peaceful Garden - MB
Sampler 1663 - PoC

Finished Fair Squares
2011 Stitching
2010 Stitching
2009 Stitching
Community
Many thanks for visiting. See you again soon!
Visits From Friends
  • 37,023
AURIbuzz

Your window into the world of Aurifil

LRstitched | Lindsey Rhodes

creative inspiration

* Between Crosses with Nina *

my stitching journey

my stitching journey

Victorian Motto Sampler Shoppe

my stitching journey

my stitching journey

World Of My Dreams

my stitching journey

Un punto e una croce

my stitching journey

my stitching journey

my stitching journey

my stitching journey

my stitching journey

The world according to Ági

my stitching journey

my stitching journey

The Stitching Muse

my stitching journey

my stitching journey

my stitching journey

99U

my stitching journey

